Journal Highlights

2013 InVitro Biology Meeting



SIVB Home Page


David Songstad,
SIVB President

President's Report

Fellow SIVB Members,

As this is my first submission to In Vitro Report as the President of the Society for In Vitro Biology, I want to begin with many “Thank You” notes to individuals and our membership.  First, a big “Thank You” goes to Dr. William Smith for his friendship and for successfully shepherding the SIVB over the past two years.  Congratulations Bill, job well done.  Second, I want to thank our Past Presidents, specifically Dr. Todd Jones, Dr. Paul Price and Dr. David Altman, for turning the ship away from bankruptcy and towards prosperity!  I also want to thank our current and past Treasurers, Dr. Barbara Doonan and Dr. Richard Heller for their diligence and fiscal responsibility.  The Secretary is responsible for taking the minutes at our Board meetings and conference calls and a big “Thank You” goes to our current and past Secretaries—Dr. Lia Campbell, Dr. John Finer and Dr. Nancy Reichert for their dedicated minutes of the societies business.  Read More>


2012 Awards

2013 In Vitro Biology Meeting

Have you made your plans to join us yet? Read More>

Michael Horn Endowment Fund

Michael Horn Endowment FundThe SIVB has recently initiated Endowment Funds in recognition of special individuals that have made a profound impact on our society.  The most recent fund is the Dr. Michael Horn Endowment Fund that is being introduced to the SIVB through the In Vitro Report and more will be shared about this fund at our annual meeting in Seattle.

As many of you already know, Mike Horn is a member of the SIVB since 1987 and he has been at our annual meetings as long as I can remember, including our meeting last year in Raleigh. Tricia, Mike’s wife, has also been at many of our SIVB meetings and you probably have seen her at past meetings by Mike’s side with her camera taking photos.   Last year, Mike was diagnosed with ALS and is now residing in Indiana with Tricia and his family.  Read More>




Member News >